RSS Feed

Parenting FAIL Friday: Summer art projects.

School is finally out for summer. I’m convinced that we live in the only state that feels that 492 half days at the end of the year are useful. You know what happens on end-of-the-year half days? Circle time. Snack time. Get ready for pick-up time. There is no learning. Let’s just call a spade a spade and end this nonsense in early June, like we used to.

Anyway. I heart summer for so, so many reasons. One being that I can kick my kids out encourage outdoor play almost daily. Another being things like picnic lunches, where the crumbs fall on the grass and I don’t have to sweep. I hate the sweeping.

Added bonus? Outdoor art time. I did this a couple times this past week. In my mind, we set up the art supplies, and the stray marker/glue/paint lands on a few grass blades rather than on my dining table.

What actually happens?

Kids: LET’S GLITTER ALL THE THINGS!

20130626_164007

 

20130626_163935 (1)

 

20130626_164000

 

Someone get the hose.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

4 responses »

  1. Looks like so much fun!!! Outside is the perfect place for that!!! They are having a sparkling day!!!

    Reply
  2. Or cover it with a layer of glue and you have the most amazing sidewalks EVER!

    Reply
    • Amy, I may kind of love that idea. I’m pretty sure the landlord would hate it, though. Someday when I own home and we don’t have to rent anymore. You know, in my imaginary happy place. 😉

      Reply
  3. I think it’s brilliant that you did this in your neighbor’s yard!! Just kidding;)
    Vicky
    http://www.thepursuitofnormal.blogspot.com

    Reply

Your two cents.

