RSS Feed

Parenting FAIL Friday: Hypocrisy.

Posted on

If there is one thing this whole cancer thing has done, it’s turned me into a giant hypocrite.

Well, not just that. But I have done more things I swore I would never do than I can count. My discipline theory has always been founded on two things: consistency and follow-through. If you aren’t actually going to follow-through with a punishment or rule, don’t even mention it. That way they can’t call your bluff.

Please ignore all of that. I apparently am horribly weak and cannot even follow my own advice.

Example one: The Nerd and I are pretty strict with a lot of things. We don’t hide that. I’m not into kid bikinis, kitten heels for my 8-year-old, or TV. What they do watch is closely monitored, and we nix anything that promotes disrespect to adults, immoral/unethical lifestyles, and or general obnoxious activity. I forbid Caillou because he whines all the freaking time. And I always found SpongeBob to be annoying and inappropriate at times.

Fast forward to the first hospital stay with Goo. The long haul of 15 days worth of tests, scans, needles, morphine drips, and horror. What did we watch incessantly? SpongeBob. It was on the TV first thing every morning. I bought SpongeBob band-aids.  I looked for SpongeBob books. I totally went back on my previous years of explaining why obnoxious cartoons can influence behavior. I’m all about consistency and follow-through.

Example two: The Nerd and I try not to spoil our kids. We laughed at parents who spent hundreds of dollars on professionally catered birthday parties with bounce houses and clowns.

Goo and Smush just had birthdays. The main attraction was a bounce house. I’ve become *that* mom. (In my defense, we got it for the day for free by an amazing company who said they wanted to give back to the community, and couldn’t think of a better way than by making Goo’s wish come true. I heart them.)

Example three, and my favorite: I put up a little snarky comment on Facebook months ago when I saw this product – the iPotty.

photo

This is a joke, right? (Photo credit: 欧黛创意)

Stickers? Sure. An M&M for successful potty-ing? Absolutely. Customized seating for use of a $500 electronic device? You are out of your mind. What are you going to do for their sweet 16, buy them an island? Good God, people. What nonsense.

Now that I got that out of the way, allow me to share with you this photo:

2013-05-10 09.01.49

That would be Smush. Sitting on the potty. Playing a game on our tablet. Also, on that tablet? A SpongeBob game.

Consistency for the win.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

13 responses »

  1. I think SpongeBob gets most of us eventually. I hate SpongeBob. It’s so freaking annoying. But our son watches it (or used to… yay for a “broken” satellite dish! until after bedtime, when I’m like boo, i want to watch big bang!) And yes… we let him watch it while on the potty… he had some constipation problems (aka holding it in), and we thought it would distract him enough to allow him to relax enough to poop. It kinda worked. And some times, you just gotta do what you gotta do! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love your glorious transparency ❤ and your wit, of course!!! XXOO

    Reply
  3. I am literally LOLing! You are the best. Mom. EVER! At least you are consistent with THAT! Xoxoxo

    Reply
  4. Literally LOLing! You are he best mom EVER…at least u r consistent with that too! Xoxo

    Reply
  5. as Leah says, U R the Best mom EVER!!!! God bless your family!!

    Reply
  6. You know what, girl? We do what we gotta do when we gotta do it. Life will return to normal again and you’ll regroup and reinstitute some rule. Then life will get crazy, cuz that’s what life this side of heaven does, and it will all go awry again;) It’s ok. We all get it. All parents do it;)
    Vicky
    http://thepursuitofnormal.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  7. Loved this post! I’m all for consistency too. Yep, no big brands for my young kids because, you know what? they are expensive and force you to be defined by coolness and money as opposed to inner qualities….
    It was my 12 year old son’s birthday the other week. I drove 20 miles to a Superdry outlet store and got him a hooded top and T-shirt….and one for me for good measure. Oh, let’s not forget the Nike trainers he bought himself with granddad’s £ and the trendy chinos I took him to buy because he’s growingsomuchhejustneededthatonemorepairoftrendypants…I had to get that out in one breath because of shame, really…
    And when he comes to say hi in his new stuff and strokes his face on the Superdry top saying that it’s the cosiest EVER, I go all soft inside. BAD, BAD, BAD mother!!!!! (she said, stroking her face on her Superdry, soft, unnecessary T-shirt…)

    Reply
  8. I’m right there with ya sister! Back in the 90’s when my best friend had kids (way before hubby and I did), I remember silently judging her for the amount of time she allowed her son to play video games. I told myself that my child would never be a “gamer.” Oops. My 5-year-old moves from device to device to device, playing anything from PBSkids.org to Batman on the DSI (thanks Grandpa for buying that for him) to Angry Birds on the phone. I have tried to limit the time exposed to these, but honestly, it is the only way I can get the boy to go shopping or have quiet during baby girl’s naptime! (Judge not, lest ye have a gamer thineself!)

    Reply
    • I so appreciate your transparency. I think the vast majority, if not all, parents have to compromise at some point. And if not, then I’d venture to guess they either have one kid, a nanny, or both. 🙂

      Reply
  9. My 27 year old son still gives me a hard time because I wouldn’t let him watch The Simpson’s. When his friends were talking about an episode, he’d play along like he saw it. I’ll probably have to pay for some kind of therapy later in his life…..

    Reply

Your two cents.

