RSS Feed

Strength for my warrior.

Nobody signs up for cancer. Nobody raises their hand and says, “Me! Me! Pick me!” But when it comes at you, you have a choice: You can let the sadness and fear swallow you whole, or you can take the lemons life has just handed you and chuck them back at that tumor ala David and Goliath.

Sharing our story has proven to be very therapeutic. Part of that story is about finding strength in unusual places. In the compassionate nod of a stranger. In the firm handshake of a doctor that says, “I know what I’m doing, and I’m fighting for your baby.” In the big bowl of pasta that a friend brings over because they are desperate to stand with you. In the comments of people you’ve never met, telling you they’re following your story and fighting with you. In the sight of your little warrior, worshiping and praying for a friend who is also battling cancer.

In what is undoubtedly the hardest battle I have ever fought, I am overwhelmed with gratitude.

Yesterday, Goo started losing her hair. We knew it was coming soon, but I didn’t expect it until her next big round of chemo. I brushed out handfuls of brown waves, walked into the kitchen, and cried. Alone. Scared. Hating everything about this disease.

I tossed and turned for hours last night, battling waves of anxiety, praying over and over because that’s all I know how to do.

And this morning, I woke up to this post from a fellow church member:

“By faith these people overthrew kingdoms, ruled with justice, and received what GOD HAD PROMISED them. They shut the mouths of lions, quenched the flames of fire and escaped death by the edge of the sword. THEIR WEAKNESS WAS TURNED INTO STRENGTH. They became strong in battle and put whole armies to flight!” Hebrews 11″33 – 34. Goo has been added to my list of heroes in the faith!!!

She’s my hero, too. And now she’s got a little extra room for that helmet.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

7 responses »

  1. so sorry to hear you go through this. I love reading your spirited words so that’s what I meant last time about enjoying your blog – wanted to clarify. But totally not enjoying that you have to go through this. Praying for you all.

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on The Arsenal and commented:
    All Prayers appreciated for this great family and this child who is a warrior and a hero.

    Reply
  3. Our tears and prayers are with you….May the Lord overpower
    you with His peace, love and healing….Uncle Rich and Aunt Mary ❤

    Reply
  4. Unfortunately, I’m too far away to offer Lasagna, babysitting or hugs. But Goo, you and your family are in our prayers.

    All the best wishes from Germany,

    Pisces

    Reply
  5. Pingback: The Battles Ahead will be won | One Lifetime

  6. Shared this on FB & asked my friends/family to pray! Also, have my church family praying!!

    Reply
  7. Hi. I stumbled across your blog thru what I’m assuming is a mutual friend. I wanted to say that Im praying for you, and your “goo”. As you fight this battle that will be a roller coaster everyday , please always remember you are never alone and with God all things are possible.

    Jocelyn

    Reply

Your two cents.

