RSS Feed

It’s a dreams come true kind of year.

I apologize in advance for the length of this. There’s just too much to tell. Feel free to scroll and skim if needed. Or to wait until the children are whining incessantly. Then I recommend locking the door and pretending they aren’t there while you read this. Because that always turns out well.

I’m not gonna lie, 2013 is off to a kick-butt start. Goo has been accepted to short-term preschool program here in town. She was so excited that we immediately had to make a calendar to count down the days until it starts. I’m beyond thrilled for her because private preschools were way too expensive, and this one is partially covered by the city, because it’s used as a student teaching experience for university students. I’m okay with that, because if a soon-to-be college graduate can’t handle finger painting and ABC’s, they totally picked the wrong career.

Side note: Let me take this time to say that being a preschool teacher is no joke. There’s a reason I’m not one. Because holy cow, three-year-olds are terrifying. And put 10 of them in a classroom? I would need therapy.

In entirely unrelated news, something to share that is blowing my mind. Some of you already know this, so forgive the redundancy. You can scroll past this bit.

Since I was 15, I have had a very real desire to do missions work. Like nitty-gritty, down and dirty, feed some hungry naked babies missions work. Over the years, the timing never seemed to work out. Plus having three rabid honey badgers to contend with always made travel a little difficult.

All that is about to change. In a few months, I will embark on what I hope will be the first of many trips I will be making to help those in need. I’m going to Haiti, people! I’ll be working in an orphanage that was established by a pastor and his wife after the earthquake nearly destroyed his home town of Carrefour (pronounced car-foo). He and his wife  came from  Haiti, but moved to the states to start a church for the Haitian community in a town in New England. When he went back to visit his family, he found what was once a typical town outside the nation’s capital of Port-au-Prince had become a depleted village of hungry children begging in the streets. He began sending his sister money to buy food to feed them, but the need was too great. He converted his home in Carrefour into an orphanage that currently provides food, clothing, shelter, and love to local street children. 

In a few months, I have the honor of going down with several others to finish a building project that will allow them to take in several more children. I will also be bringing one back with me.

Maybe that last part was wishful thinking, but you never know.

Side note: Don’t worry. I’m only painting. I think we all know that it’s best if I stay away from hammers and nails.

We will also be doing an outreach for the community, complete with a children’s program by yours truly. When we asked how many to expect, we figured maybe 30 or so, figuring you’d get an extra 20 beyond the orphanage kids.

Umm, it’s going to be like 200. This is where you start praying and fasting for me, because egad that’s a lot of kids. And I’m still amazed I’ve kept three alive. So you know, there’s that.

You can see a brief write-up here, along with information on donating to the ministry itself. There is also an urgent needs list of items the orphanage is currently running without.

This is where it gets good.

The trip has a price tag, obviously, since I need shots, and a passport, and airfare, etc. I’ve planned a bake sale, and before I could even start doing anything to raise money, donations started arriving at my house.

Then my kindergarten teacher and her husband connected with me on Facebook and invited me to speak at their church about the trip and orphanage. This church has a passion for Haiti, and will be taking a donation to support this endeavor.

Then a connection through my aunt, who is also going, got a REFRIGERATOR paid for. In full. With money to stock it full of food for the kids while we’re down there. We are being presented with a check in memory of the Sandy Hook victims.

Then my sister-in-law offered to hook us up with her church that does a charity event providing dresses for girls in need of basic clothing.

The world is full of hate. And greed. And evil.

And then a need arises. And people stand up. They fight hunger with generosity. They fight tragedy with hope. They fight hate with love.

We’re world changers, you guys. And I can’t wait to share with you about my experience when I get back.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

8 responses »

  1. That is amazing, and I am so jealous that you get to do this. When I was a little girl, at Christmas and my birthday, I used to ask my mom to sponsor a child in Africa. My life-long DREAM is to go to Africa and somehow help those beautiful little kids. My cousin works for Doctors without borders in the Congo, and I am living vicariously through her. Someday, I hope to be able to hug a kid who desperately needs a hug.
    Congratulations to you, and the best of luck to you and everyone in Haiti!

    Reply
  2. How awesome is this! I have wanted to do something like this since I was a teenager but life has not afforded me the opportunity. I will be praying for you as you take this adventure, even now my heart swells with the sadness that these kids call life there. Bless you girl, I will be looking forward to hearing your experiences. Please give a few hugs from me to those you bless with your service. I will see what I can do to help in any way 🙂 ❤

    Reply
  3. Well done, good and faithful servant. This is a beautiful experience. I feel so blessed to have found your blog in time to be a witness to this amazing journey for you. We will be praying for you, your travel companions, you travels and your family at home. Can’t wait to hear about how God is going to use you to change the lives of so many and how he’s going to use the people you encounter to change your life!
    Vicky
    http://www.thepursuitofnormal.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. Not sure if my other reply went through- why is technology so finnicky! Anyway…

    Hi from The Pursuit of Normal! I love that you came by to read and comment and I would love love (yes, 2 loves) if you did a follow up/off shoot! I got the idea for this post the first week of January and found you a few days later! I felt like it was God thing!! I actually thought of you when I posted it but wasn’t sure you’d appreciate an unsolicited direction over to your blog! I love when things work out like this!

    Please know you can link me any time. I’d consider it an honor to be linked to your great writing any time. I’d also love to do a shout out to you when you do decide to post it so please give me a heads up. I’m certainly not a big blog but I have great friends that love great writing so they’d love to read your stuff. Also, would you mind if I added you to my “Blogs I love” sidebar thingamajig?
    Vicky
    http://www.thepursuitofnormal.blogspot.com

    Reply
  5. This post is so inspiring! I have always wanted to go to Haiti and do mission work – I am thrilled for your journey. I am sure it will be incredibly rewarding. 🙂 Have an amazing trip!!

    Reply

Your two cents.

