RSS Feed

Decisions, decisions.

When I started this blog, the Nerd had been suggesting it for a while. Apparently you can make money off them or something.

But I’m pretty sure you have to be professional and a fantastic writer and have a big audience for that to happen. So I settled for sharing parenting insanity and my children’s mutinies against me in hopes of being able to laugh about it all.

The thing is, writing is time-consuming. And I’ve had to set priorities. And unfortunately, I have to keep buying things like food and oil and coffee, and those require income. Enter my super awesome opportunity: child care for another two-year-old at my house. I managed to land a paying gig with a sweet little girl during the week. Please stifle your laughter when you realize someone is paying me to take care of their child. Because we all know how well that’s worked out for my own kids.

Side note: I have lost 4 pounds since starting this, because it’s amazing how much you can’t sit down when there are three humans under the age of 5 in your care. Kind of excited about that added bonus.

Anyway.

Before the holidays, I realized that really, this blog was just continually consuming more and more of my time, and really not going anywhere. Readership is at a low point, I’m tweeting nonsense (“tweeting” is still such an odd term) in addition to writing nonsense and posting nonsense on Facebook. Between childcare, family obligations, and church obligations, I’m trying to squeeze in really lame posts just to have something up here.

In short, I think it’s time to shut this thing down.

I’ve been mulling it over for over a month. My options are either to continue working to monetize this thing, which has not worked out as of yet, or to wave the white flag and realize I can’t do it all, because I’m blessedly busy  nowadays in lots of good ways.

I haven’t officially made a decision yet, but I figured getting this up here would at least buy me some time while I weigh the pros and cons.

And while I go clean up the cereal the kids just dumped all over the floor.

Some things never change.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

16 responses »

  1. I adore this blog. In fact I look forward to new posts and try to share them with friends. If you feel that sharing about your family is cutting into your time actually being with your family, though, I don’t think anyone would think poorly of you for quitting. I’ll miss the posts and all, but you have to do what’s best for you. Making more time for what’s important does not in any way make you a mediocre mom(:

    Reply
  2. WHAT?!! I do hope you reconsider. I have scaled back considerably myself because I am traveling down other avenues of writing. Stats are low for everyone right now, I think. If you enjoy it, I hope you keep at it.

    Reply
  3. I love reading your blog, but totally understand if time is the issue. I obviously don’t write one! But just so you know, I will miss you if you quit writing it.

    Reply
  4. Since your original intention was to have a “reflection” point so you can laugh at your own life situations, then I would say, keep it around for as frequent as you feel you have “itch” to write. All readers here are just receivers, and can’t “demand” more than you can produce. I might be sad (for myself) to see you dedicate yourself more to something else, but similar to what would you say to very-valued colleague when changing jobs: I don’t like it, but it is good for you, so I’m happy for you.
    I would only suggest not burning off bridges. Keep it around as your own artistic outlet. Similar to photos that you snap, later you only regret the ones you did not deem “important” enough to snap. But life is more important, and you will remember that, seeing that there is more photos (blogs) from one period and less from the other. Does not have to be all-or-nothing.

    Reply
  5. I love your blog and it really makes me sad to read that you are considering to close it.

    I’m trying to keep with my blog, between my full time job at a call center, traveling 8 hours a weekend to see my boyfriend and spending the most quality time with him, six dogs… my point is that I know that feeling of not having enough time and may not getting anything for it.

    For what it’s worth, I can tell you that I read all your posts and I know two of my friends who are moms read it as well. You bright up my day with your funny stories and teach me on my future rol as a mom.

    May be you can leave it for once a week post? Once in while when something funny happens?

    So, if you decide to close it, let me tell you that it will be a sad, very sad day.

    Or… may be you can do it for the great satisfaction that writing gives? (or at least, that’s what I tell myself)

    Hope to read you again.

    Hugs from hot Costa Rica.

    Reply
  6. Oh, it’s of course your decision, but we’ll miss you if you go! I second the vote of keeping it around and just posting when you have the time and inclination, even if that’s infrequently (but only as long as you enjoy it–once it stops being fun, well, I think that’s when you have to pack it in, regardless of how your fans feel 🙂

    Reply
  7. I would hate to see your blog go away 😦 it’s sooo good!

    Lori H and I were talking about it last night!

    loriwas-beyondthebassclef.blogspot.com& You Tube – Tales From the Driver’s Seat

    Reply
  8. I love reading your blog and I share it with my co-worker who has a 2 year old, but of course it’s your decision. I love it because your middle girl reminds me of Greg – what is it about the second born.

    Reply
  9. Love the blog, your kids, the nerd and knowing you makes it even more fun to read. Yes, I’m amazed that you find the time to write it, but happy to see a post whenever you have a moment. Maybe if you treat it as kindof the new baby book, there will be some happy memories to look back on and maybe one day, laugh about with the boyfriends the girls may or may not bring home one day in the not so distant future. Oh and by the way, I pray that a nerd just like their dad finds each of them one day.

    Reply
  10. I just found you! Don’t leave me! So here’s my two cents as a nosey girl and blogger… I’m sure you started your blog to have a place to write witty grown up things so you could help yoruself laugh at the absurdity and insanity that is parenting while also helping others feel a little more understood because they feel what you feel and live what you live… am I correct at all or am i just projecting?

    So, if in a perfect world I’m even a tiny bit right about a tiny bit of that rant up there, you need to keep writing. No pressure to grow. No pressure to expand. No pressure to see increases in numbers or comments. just write. for you. and for us who read you but don’t always look everyday but save them up and read them all when we have a minute between “Mom can you…” and folding laundry. We love you. We need you. You help us feel normal. And that’s valuable. Not always profitable, but valuable.

    That being said, we always support what you need to do. But Selfish Me again says- noooooooo!
    Vicky
    http://www.thepursuitofnormal.blogspot.com

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Sticking it out. Because I’m dangerous on my own. « Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

  12. Well. If I ruled a world outside of the little one in my head (which, mind you…is an AMAZING world), you would be a millionaire because you validate the shitty/amazing world of a parent. I have three kidlets under the age of 5 and people don’t “get” it – however, you do.

    On that note, maybe just write when you need to…not for us…but for you. My blog is at a horrible low as of late, too. So – perhaps readership downs aren’t YOUR fault, but society’s fault (I mean, really…we write nothing but amazing stuff…if people aren’t reading, I’m blaming it on something in the water).

    So – keep writing…WE will keep reading, and you never know…maybe money will come. Perhaps not in buckets, but enough to keep the doors open.

    Reply
    • Bless you. And as you well know, finding the few that “get it” is so worth it. It is a wonderful thing knowing I’m not the only one who isn’t June Cleaver on a regular basis! 🙂

      Reply
      • Well…I am NEVER June Cleaver (hahah…if that makes you feel any better), and I quit trying many years ago. So – know you are loved and you bring smiles to many faces. Again, that isn’t the same kind of fulfillment you get from cash…BUT, it counts for something.

  13. I love your blog! It reminds me that I’m not insane or a bad mom…that I’m just…normal. Thx!

    Reply
  14. I’ve been struggling with this too. I feel like I’m trying up so much time with writing things that no one ever sees, but then I’ll get a text message from a friend who says my post has her in tears. What I mean is, just because commenting is sparse doesn’t mean that your writing isn’t having an impact on other moms’ lives; it is, and my life is among those brightened by your witty, thoughtful writing. I would be sad to see you gone entirely… how about just a weekly Mom Fail to keep it all in perspective?

    Reply

Your two cents.

