RSS Feed

Focusing on the good – not easy, but so important.

It’s been a rough couple of weeks with Goo. She’s been extraordinarily argumentative and defiant.

I made this for Goo with leftover craft supplies during a kids’ church class. Don’t be jealous of my crafting skills. It’s her memory verse, and she likes girly things, so I figured it would help us remember to practice. 

And then something strange happened.

It helped me. On days when she was making me completely insane, I would walk into the kitchen to (obviously) refresh my coffee, and staring at me would be the declaration: Goo is wonderfully made.

Tantrums? Dear God yes. Defiance? Like it’s in her DNA. And stubborn? You don’t know stubborn until you’ve met Goo. But she’s wonderfully made. You can’t argue with that. And because of this little reminder, I started noticing all these things I love about her.

  1. Her crazy front pieces of hair. She took scissors and “trimmed” her bangs a couple of months ago. To her scalp. I was super happy. And now her crazy curls in front are about the length of regular bangs, but they point in 12 different directions sometimes. And it always makes me chuckle. And it always reminds me of our conversation: Umm, Goo, did you cut your hair? Goo – No. Why? Because it looks like you cut *these* pieces. Goo – Oh yeah, I cut those. But not the rest of it. (Oh, alrighty then. No worries. It only took you four years to have hair long enough for me to braid. Maybe we can put it all in a ponytail again by the time you go to college.)
  2. The way she says certain words. Like “forgot.” “Mommy, I got-for my blanket at Gramma’s house.” Or “octopus.” “Mommy, that hoppopus sure has lots of legs, huh?” I know I should be working on the correct pronunciation. But it’s so dang cute. And I fall in love with her every time she says it. And since most of my wine and coffee drinking is attributable to her, just let me have these, okay?
  3. She loves playing outside. She’s a bike-riding addict. She loves fresh air and being active, and I seriously admire her for that, because I was a TV junkie.
  4. She is crazy helpful around the house sometimes. The other day she begged me to wash the dishes in the sink all by herself. And then a friend maybe suggested that I offer washing dishes as a reward – and it totally worked. Because she had been so helpful picking up toys in the living room, I congratulated her and offered to let her wash dishes again. Winning.
  5. She’s crazy independent. Sometimes this makes me insane – like when she thinks it’s a great day for a naked walk next door, and leaves the house without asking. But when she asked to washed dishes, she had watched me do it, and just went for it. And she nailed it. Punkin, on the other hand, is an asker. “How exactly do I wash a dish?” She actually asked that. And I had to stifle my “Are you serious?” look and response. I appreciate her thoroughness, but Goo’s take-it-and-run-with-it attitude makes me smile. Especially since it comes packaged a skinny-minnie body (picture 4+ year old still wearing 24 month skirts).

Keep in mind that this all preceded a full-blown tantrum that could have shattered the foundations of the earth yesterday morning. Just before we left for church. That resulted in Goo knocking over a dresser and spilling mixed berry juice all over the exposed (clean, neatly folded) clothes and her beige carpet (a cup that wasn’t supposed to leave the dining area to begin with). And after walking in, seeing what happened, picking up the dresser, and making her scrub the carpet, I took a glance at her memory verse. And remembered why she’s wonderful.

And then I informed her that because of her bad choices, she would be cleaning the mess and not watching cartoons or playing Dora games on the computer for a few days. Because I want her to stay wonderful.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

2 responses »

  1. I was going to say that #4 would make you the envy of every parent around, but then came the mixed berry juice. Still, a child that begs to do the dishes – unheard of!

    I like to think that the defiance and independence my girls show will help them thrive when they are grown and out in the world. Until then, I have to handle it, and it does involve taking away computer time.

    Reply
    • I feel the same way. I think that she’s so firm in her idea of justice (yes, even at 4, haha) that as a teen and an adult she’ll probably have no problem standing up for what’s right. And I love that about her.

      And yeah, the berry juice brings it all into perspective. 🙂

      Reply

Your two cents.

