RSS Feed

Mediocre changes for our family, tips for yours.

Hi. It’s been forever. Sorry about that. I’m still working on improving lots of things in my life all at once. Like…not sucking at everything.

I have decided that this whole blogging thing should really happen more regularly, if for no other reason than to have an easy, internet-ready way to embarrass my children in the future should the need arise. “Oh, you thought staying out past curfew was okay? Hmm. Well let me know what your friends think when they read the post about you finger painting your naked body in nail polish, mmkay?”

So in an attempt to not suck at everything, I’ve been making lots of little changes that have been having big impact. Here’s a list because I felt the need to spread the awesomeness:

  1. Goo is now my sous chef. She helps me cook as many meals as possible. Does that slow down my garlic chopping a bit? Sure. But it saved dinner time. I seriously cannot even believe the impact it had. Allow me to paint a picture for you: It’s dinner time. I put said dinner on the table. Goo has a tantrum. Now repeat that, every single night, for 3 years. To save you from a math headache, that’s over 1,000 dinner time tantrums. I came to hate cooking, something I had once really enjoyed and found a little relaxing. I resented cooking, I resented family meals, and to be totally transparent, I may have resented Goo a little bit for ruining it for us. But she’s a preschooler for crying out loud, and I needed to remember that. Keeping her iron-clad will and independence in mind, I asked her if she wanted to be my cooking helper.  She had gotten her own little set of cooking utensils last Christmas, so why not? This one small decision changed my world. Not only can I cook a meal without her whining at me the whole time, but she proudly announced recently that she has, as a “good cooker,” decided to try one new food a week. Since then she has willingly begun eating tomatoes, green and red bell peppers, and beans. *Happy dance* Bonus: I thoroughly enjoy cooking again. *Another happy dance*

    These. These can rock. your. world. (Photo credit: Amazon.com)

  2. I signed up for my very first 5K! Squee! This gives me a deadline to force my flabby tush into shape, and because I signed up with friends, we’ve begun working out together every week to help train. My record so far is running 2 miles straight, and for this non-exerciser, I’m pretty stoked about it. Bonus #2: if I know I have to go to the gym or run, I make better food choices. Because who wants to work that hard, and sweat that much, to work off half a dish of chocolate ice cream? Not this girl. And if you’ve been thinking about making some healthier choices, I enthusiastically recommend checking out this Facebook page: Losing Weight with Elizabeth. It’s done by a totally amazing lady who lost 93 lbs and, after her third attempt, kept it off for three years. She puts up tips, encouragement, and funny little moments to help me keep you on the right track. She also wrote a book. Buy it. Here’s the link to her Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/losing-weight-with-elizabeth/473204615724
  3. We’re becoming a real-ish food family. You may recall that Goo has some food sensitivities that make her head explode. The more I began eliminating certain things from her diet, the more I wanted to do it for us. And the more research I’ve read, the more I’ve realized that the American food industry is, to put it bluntly, kind of toxic. If you’re not into science-speak and would rather read a cute blog than a science journal, I highly recommend this one: 100 Days of Real Food. The author started by making a pledge to only do “real food” (aka, no additives, preservatives, processed foods, fast food, etc.) for 100 days. Her family loved it so much that they stuck with it, and she has TONS of info in one place. We aren’t as strict as she is, and to once again be blunt: it’s largely because of money. Unfortunately, unprocessed and/or organic foods still cost a LOT more than the other stuff.
    Labeling for products that meet the USDA-NOP s...

    Maybe if I start selling my blood plasma.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    If I had the dinero, I would totally do organic all the way. But I shop around, and I’ve done my homework, so in the mean time, we have focused on more fruits and raw veggies, hormone-free dairy, more meat-free sources of protein, from-scratch foods (someone gave me a bread maker – LOVE) and no more eating out or deli meats. I’m hoping to do a post just on these changes in case you’re interested in how I got three kids to come on board with this. In the mean time, you should totally check out 100 Days of Real Food. I’m telling you, it’s worth it.

  4. Starting tomorrow (our first day of school in these parts), homeschooling Goo is back in full swing. I’m sad to see summer end, and it’s no secret that I kind of love having Punkin around all day. I like her. But she loves school, and Goo loves school, so I can’t complain. Much. Final bonus: I purchased a curriculum for $10 – TEN DOLLARS – from this lady. She’s been homeschooling her kids for years, and as a former teacher and someone who has seen the good, bad, and ugly side of preschool programs, I LOVE IT. And more importantly, Goo loves it. Hearts and smiles all around.

So that’s it. Some mediocre attempts at not sucking. They’re going well. Next on the list: blogging more than, you know, twice a year.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

3 responses »

  1. i heart 100 days! Being DINKs, we don’t have quite the same budgetary concerns. But I vote even small changes are a big deal. This is also the time of year to stock up! We bought ridiculous amounts of tomatoes and bell peppers last year at the end of the season at the farmer’s market for really good prices (a bushel of peppers for 15 bucks, I think. Bushel. No lie.). We just cut them in half and froze ’em raw. We roasted the tomatoes, then froze them. It was incredibly economical. And when we ran out, we ran out. Had to wait for the new season, instead of buying out of season. Super fun.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Switching to real food on a real budget, the mediocre way. « Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

  3. Pingback: Parenting FAIL Friday: Pride goeth before the fall. « Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

Your two cents.

