RSS Feed

A daughter’s ode to her father. Also, apparently I’m chopped liver.

So every year, Punkin does projects in school for Mother’s Day and Father’s day. I’m assuming this is almost universal. This year, her second grade work actually reflected how she felt about us a bit more than the disproportionate stick figures from previous years. Don’t get me wrong – they make me look super skinny, so I’m all about that. But it’s nice to hear some of the actual words behind the sentiment. Except that maybe second graders still struggle to find the right words to really express how they feel. And they may struggle to find the right pictures, too. At least I hope so, because these are the highlights from Punkin’s Mother’s Day and Father’s Day projects.

Mother’s Day Project

  1. Lazy bum.

    I never leave the house in actual sweatpants. Ever. Even going to the gym I wear work out pants and put on concealer. I’d be okay with this if I spent so much time sleeping that it was all she saw me in, which would mean I was sleeping a lot. But I’m a parent, so you know, I kind of remember what sleep was like. Glad to see my effort pays off.

  2. It’s all about me.

    I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve been to the mall in the past year. Thanks, economy.

  3. Eating is awesome. Times 2.

    She also had a page about me liking pineapple. So just to review: I live in sweatpants, I go shopping all the time, and I eat. A lot. Happy Mother’s Day.

  4. I maybe get it right sometimes.

    At least I’ve got this going for me.

Father’s Day Project

  1. I’m awesome. And aggressive?

    “I love my dad because he helps me roller blade.” Apparently he also helps you learn how to take a punch.

  2. I’m awesome again. And still maybe a little aggressive.

    “I love my dad because he taught me how to ride my two-wheeled bike.” And also how to fall off.

  3. I’m basically a superhero. I own this parenting thing.

    “I love my dad because he works so hard at being the best!” Oh really? It’s not because he wears pajamas or goes shopping all the time? Huh.

Obviously we know that Punkin kind of thinks we rock. Which is good, because we try really, really hard to be good parents. I shudder to think about how many mistakes we’ve made, and have yet to make, but given that Punkin is pretty much amazing in every way, I’d say we’re doing something right. Also, I may really raise the bar and get out of my sweatpants today. Take that mediocre parenting.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

3 responses »

  1. I sometimes wonder where they get these things. My son wrote that I am great at baking cakes. I’m not sure I’ve baked a cake in his life! He said he loves me for a “secret reason” which also sounded ominous…

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Mother’s Day: Nailed it. | Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

  3. Pingback: Father’s Day: Let’s not forget how lazy Mommy is. | Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

Your two cents.

