RSS Feed

I’m back – with mediocre tidbits.

I’ve been MIA, I know. I’m on this kick where I’m trying to get my life organized and super functional and awesome and by the end of the day I’m like, “Writing? You mean like, sentences?”

So because I know you’re obviously going through withdrawal after such a substantial hiatus from my rapier whit, I’m throwing some tidbits your way of the past several weeks around the Mediocre household.

  1. The Nerd and I went away. Without the children. *does a little happy dance* We went with a group of married couples from our church to a marriage retreat in Niagara Falls. (BTW, if you’re married, you should totally check it out. http://www.familylife.com/weekend). It was spectacular. We had three whole days of grown up time, grown up conversation, and grown up clothes. I even wore skirts or dresses each day because I wouldn’t have the minions grabbing and pulling at me. Holla! Plus, we got to see the falls, complete with fireworks our first night there. See?

    The Nerd. Mediocre Mom. In case you couldn’t figure that out all by yourself.

  2. I’ve started homeschooling Goo. I’ll give you a minute to let that sink in. I am voluntarily homeschooling Todzilla herself. And it is amazing. Goo is rocking it out. She knows all her letters, upper and lower case, and almost all the letter sounds. She’s counting to 30 (with a little fuzziness in the teens. No biggie.) We do art projects every day, and science at least once a week. She loves it. I love it. Smush loves it because she has her own little workbook to scribble in during school time. I’m putting together my own curriculum in a massive (and super cute) binder so that when Smush is ready, I’ll already have it set and good to go. So not mediocre, right? *another little happy dance*
  3. I had the best Mother’s Day ever this year. And after last year’s debacle, it was greatly appreciated. The Nerd got me a membership to our local gym (one of the cheap ones) and it’s soooo fantastic. And before you go all ninja on him for basically getting me some exercise for Mother’s Day, he made it very clear to the gym rep: I wanted one for years. He was, in no way, shape, or form, implying that I needed exercise. Love that man.
  4. I may or may not be losing my mind. Here’s where the faith part comes in: I’m working on this whole being-who-God-wants-me-to-be thing. Some days I own that. Some days…not so much. I’m sure that eventually I’ll be super smooth and awesome at juggling everything. Kind of like the Shaft of motherhood. But until then, my posts may be a little sporadic. But I will try my darndest to keep it going. And I will try to keep the camera handy at all times because well, try as I may, I’m fairly certain there will still be a parenting FAIL at least once a week. Like the fact that we maybe couldn’t find the computer mouse for two weeks because Smush took it and shoved it between our mattress and the foot of the bed.

So there you go. I’m writing this before I hit the gym because that way I’m not exhausted and intellectually flabbergasted and sweaty. Nobody likes a sweaty keyboard. And if you’re wondering why I would be intellectually flabbergasted from exercise, it’s because my mind goes a million miles an hour while I’m at the gym. I’ve had multiple requests for new posts, so to those of you encouraging me to keep on keepin’ on – abundant thanks. Now if you’ll excuse me, Smush is running around the house in a diaper that is nearly dragging on the ground. I should maybe take care of that…

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

4 responses »

  1. Love your blog:)

    Reply
  2. I was beginning to worry that something terrible happened. Funny how you can worry about someone you’ve never met.

    Reply
    • Wow, that’s really kind! And thankfully, no, nothing terrible has happened. Except that Smush has figured out that I can be easily swayed with the promise of snuggle time. That could bite me in the tush… 🙂

      Reply
  3. Okay. I will admit it. I WAS going through withdrawal. I’m better now.

    Going away on a trip without the kids is the best ever thing to do! I hope you have lots of fun homeschooling and doing stuff at the gym, and I hope the gym sells chocolate as well as exercise opportunities.
    – From the intellectually flabbergasted Common Household Mom.

    Reply

Your two cents.

