RSS Feed

Before and after kids: Spring cleaning.

A while ago I did a post on Facebook, before and after kids. This got me thinking that there’s probably a literary goldmine of posts on activities of daily life before and after kids. I’m making it a series. Kind of like Parenting FAIL Friday.

Last week I got to escape for a few minutes to run an errand with J-Money (bff). Pedicures? No. Frothy lattes? No. Home Depot, baby. You may have seen us there. We were the two smokin’ hot chicks caressing the granite samples and stainless steel refrigerators like they were our long-lost loves.

I was on a mission to get new filters for the vacuum, vacuum bags, and a new dust pan and scrub brush. I’m getting ready for spring cleaning, and I may or may not be a little excited at the thought of new cleaning supplies. I kept going on and on about my new vacuum filters to the Nerd. He totally didn’t get it. Analogy: a carpenter gets a brand new fancy pants drill.

Side note: I’m pretty sure “Fancy Pants” should be a tool brand name. Anyway. He would be super excited because he uses it all day every day.

I’m a stay at home mom with three of the messiest children on the planet. I use my vacuum all day every day. I once saw a tip on keeping a tidy home: make a cleaning schedule and stick with it. Example: if Mondays are vacuum day, always vacuum on Mondays. Umm, pretty sure if I vacuumed once a week, we’d have things growing on our carpet.

I tried launching spring cleaning on Saturday. The Nerd “suddenly” came down with a raging, extremely painful sinus infection and became utterly useless. Men. This left me with three not-super-helpful children, exactly 1/7 of the cleaning done that I had planned, and a partially sanded living room getting prepped for painting. It also got me thinking about what spring cleaning was like before we had children. It was just a *little* different then.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

One response »

  1. LAUGHING OUT LOUD!!!!!! too funny! And soo true! Yeah,keep the series coming!

    Reply

Your two cents.

