RSS Feed

You’re not allowed to date until you’re 35. But at least we know you have good taste.

Punkin has her first crush.

I’m not okay with this. The Nerd and I decided that 35 is a great age to start dating. So I don’t really see a need for crushes until she’s 34.

You can date when you're this old. Image via Flickr Commons.

But let me say, the girl has good taste. He’s just a little bit older, absolutely adorable, and probably the sweetest boy on the planet. He’s involved at church, loves God, is quite the athlete, and has manners and a willingness to help that would make any mother proud. And clearly he’s got great taste.

I’m training her well.

His mom and I talked, and all parental units agree that it’s harmless. And maybe a little adorable. I’m still going to have a little Mommy-daughter chat about boys and crushes and waiting to date until your 35. Maybe we can go for a Guinness Book of World Records entry: oldest age to ever go on a very first date.

I kid. I hope that she finds the kind of love, commitment, and joy that the Nerd and I have. Even when we make each other crazy. We already pray for the future husband. That may seem weird, but somewhere out there is a little boy who will one day ask for my daughter’s hand in marriage. And God knows – literally – that his parents probably need as much wisdom as we do.

But in the mean time, there will be no boys. No dating. Not for at least a decade.

Although if this what she’s looking for in a man, I don’t think we’ll have much to worry about.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

4 responses »

  1. I have a feeling I might know this little boy…I have to say they both have good taste. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Michelle Brown

    Prayer works Sis. Keep praying, my son has girls follow him and he walks away totally clueless. My daughter, well she is another case… hard to tell with that one.

    Reply

Your two cents.

