RSS Feed

Parenting FAIL Friday: Oh good. I did put it away. Not.

The other day I was straightening up the house. Quite why, I’m not sure of, because it never looks like I did anything. But I was. And I suddenly remembered that I had left my makeup out the night before. I made a dash into the bathroom to find that I had, in fact, put it away already. Go me. Pat on the back.

About an hour later, I decide to give the girls a bath because they’re making me lose my ever-loving mind and I need to keep them contained they were messy. I plop them in, add some bubbles, and it’s a few minutes of splashing happily while sit there ignoring them and texting working on my electronic grocery list. I go to prep the towels for bathtub removal, and hear Goo say:

Hey, Mommy? The bath is messy.

What do you mean the bath is messy? It’s a bath. It’s the opposite of messy.

Nice and clean. Or not.

But sure enough, I turn around to find Smush, sweet little grin on her face, smearing mascara all over herself and the sides of the tub, which then ran into the water and turned it gray. Super awesome.

It was annoying that I had to drain the water. It was annoying that I had to scrub the tub before filling it again and scrubbing the girls clean. But the real kicker was this:

I seriously tried. Legitimately made every effort to get all mess-making supplies to their proper child-free containers. And what do I get in return? A stealth baby who somehow sneaked it into the tub anyway, and made a mess in the one spot that is, by nature, virtually mess free.

Oh look. The tub matches the whale.

I give up.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

2 responses »

  1. I also find it annoying when I put my kids in the bath and then I hear, “Mommy, look, poopy!” Why oh Why? I guess it would be too easy for them to use the bathroom before bath time, I swear it is their little “gotcha” momma. Kids 1, Mom 0

    Reply
  2. Try a strong makeup remover, I sometimes use it to clean mascara off the bathroom sink.

    Reply

Your two cents.

