RSS Feed

Routine Charts: Like paper gold. Or something.

Know how I decided to do routine charts for the girls? We’ve been doing them for several days now. They’re amazing.

Do you know what the kids did to me yesterday morning before I even opened my eyes?

Nothing. There was no nail polish, no sharpies, no spilled beverages all over the living room rug. No arguing.

It was miraculous. Like heaven itself rained down on their beds and turned them into obedient, self-sufficient, whine-free children. I’ve been staying up way too late, and may have fallen back asleep after I was supposed to get up this morning. Whoops. But those 10 minutes were glorious. Anyway.

When I got up, the girls were up. And dressed. With hair brushed, and teeth brushed. Homework was done and in the appropriate folder. I felt like I had slipped into an episode of The Twilight Zone.

Me in the morning.

And yesterday morning wasn’t it! Goo LOVES her routine charts. Her first day, she was so excited to do her jobs all by herself, she was zipping back and forth all over the house: checking the chart, finishing a job, checking the chart, finishing the next job. Not even kidding, she makes her bed every day. Sometimes she makes Punkin’s too. The kid is on fire.

The only downside was that she was so supremely excited about making her bed all by herself, she would get really ticked whenever her covers got messed up. Like when we needed to tuck her in. Needless to say, this added a little stress to nap time and bed time. After a couple of days, she got the hang of the whole make the bed, sleep in the bed, make the bed again, cycle.

But honestly, that was the only negative. And that’s barely a negative. Well, that and the fact that the first two days, I had to keep reminding Punkin to check her chart. Which isn’t much different from my reminding her to get dressed-brush her teeth-get her shoes-pack her bag. But she’s breezing through it now. And whereas mornings around here used to involve strained tones of voice, tears on more than one occasion, and the frequent emergence of the mean Mommy voice, the other day Punkin was ready 15 minutes early. It’s insane I tell you.

If you have kids who can comprehend something like this, but haven’t tried it yet, do it. I don’t know why I waited so long. Routine charts are my new favorite thing.

 

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

7 responses »

  1. Michelle Brown

    Love this! Know Let’s do it for Girls Ministries!!!!

    Reply
  2. Isaiah has always thrived on charts, but that also is his personality. Good Job beth.

    Reply
  3. This is excellent. I am still telling my 12-year-old to brush her teeth, comb her hair, and everything else. I wish I had done something like this.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Chore chart madness, terrible artistic skills, and my (sort of) clean house: Part one. « Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

  5. All sounds awesome! Do you think it will work for a spouse!! LOL 🙂 Keep up the great work Beth. I bet it will work for the girls ministries too!!!!

    Reply

Your two cents.

