RSS Feed

Parenting FAIL Friday #2 – Abandonment issues.

A few weeks ago, the Nerd won a gift card to a local outfitter. A $25 gift card for waiting 3 hours, outside, in the freezing, dark night on black Friday. Not my thing, but whatever. He was excited because it gave him enough to buy what?

A Red Ryder BB gun. If you’ve ever seen the movie, “A Christmas Story,” you know exactly what I’m talking about. This one:

This store is no joke. It’s the size of a small metropolis, complete with aquarium, restaurant, mini-museum, a safari display, and a plane hanging from the ceiling. We figured the kids would have fun checking out all the animals, so we loaded up the swagger wagon and headed out. We pulled into the parking lot, and the Nerd unloaded the kids while I packed up the bag with the essentials: the sippie cup, rainbow chi chi, dee dee (Smush’s blanket), and a flask.

I run to catch up with the rest of crew, and as we approach the store, I begin my routine of counting the children, which happens dozens of times on each outing.

Side note: just the thought of an outing with the Duggars makes me need a Xanax.

One, two…two?

Me: Nerd, where’s Goo?

Nerd: Goo? I thought you had her.

Me: No. You got the kids out of the car.

Nerd: Wait, you didn’t bring her with you?

Me: No! She’s still in the car?!?

*Running frantically back to the car because it takes an ordinary child 3.2 seconds to have something catastrophic happen in a vehicle. It takes Goo 3.2 milliseconds.*

Doesn't she look abandoned and forlorn?

Much to my relief, and surprise, the swagger wagon was still there.

All kidding aside though, there is absolutely no panic like the kind that sets in when you don’t know where your child is. Goo makes me crazy, all day, every day. But the thought of her being in an abandoned car in a parking lot for even the 10 seconds I was gone was completely terrifying.

When we found her, she was happily watching all the people coming and going, and obviously thinking, “Thank God. A few minutes of peace and quiet. Now to just get out of this seat and hot wire this thing…”

Forgetting one of your kids? Epic FAIL.

But stopping to take a picture for your blog before getting them out of the car? Win.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

2 responses »

  1. I’m glad your daughter was okay. You’re right, not knowing where your child is is absolutely terrifying. We lost our (then) two year old in a Sea World gift shop a couple of summers ago. It was the same case as yours– my husband and I thought the other had him. When we realized, my heart nearly stopped in fear. Luckily, a gift shop worker found him and began taking him to the kid lost and found. My parents were outside with our oldest, who saw the two year old and ran up to him.

    And the picture of your daughter chillin’ in the car IS great. 🙂

    Reply

Your two cents.

