RSS Feed

My 3 year old’s theme song.

The other night, the Nerd and I were watching a favorite show of ours, Malcolm in the Middle. We heart that show for so many reasons. The kids are petrified of the mother, as it should be. They’re on a super tight budget, especially for a family of five. The parents are still madly in love. And their kids make mine seem normal-ish.

Last night, when the theme song came on, I looked at the Nerd and said, “Oh my goodness. It’s the perfect song for Goo.” Yesterday she pitched a fit about my asking her to pick up her toys screaming, “Mommy, you can’t tell me what to do! You can’t be mean to me! This. Is. Not. FAIR!” This song is sheer genius, if you’ve ever met or read about Goo. And because I’m awesome, I decided to share it with you. For your listening pleasure:

“Boss of Me” by They Might Be Giants

Lyrics:

Yes, no, maybe
I don’t know
Can you repeat the question?

You’re not the boss of me now
You’re not the boss of me now
You’re not the boss of me now
And you’re not so big
Life is unfair

So I just stare
At the stain on the wall where
The TV’d been
But ever since
We’ve moved in it’s been empty
Why I, why I’m in this room
There is no point explaining

You’re not the boss of me now
And you’re not so big
Life is a test

But I confess
I like this mess I’ve made so far
Grade on a curve and you’ll observe
I’m right below the horizon
Yes, no, maybe, I don’t know
Can you repeat the question?

You’re not the boss of me now
You’re not the boss of me now
You’re not the boss of me now
And you’re not so big
Life is unfair

 

 

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

3 responses »

  1. Michelle Blinstrubas Riddle

    Sheer Genius!!! Love It,my Dear.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Goose Song |

Your two cents.

