RSS Feed

Parenting FAIL Friday: Utter destruction.

Parenting FAIL Friday: Utter destruction.

In an attempt to save my sanity, and hopefully teach my girls to be the responsible, independent women I hope they will become, the Nerd and I have been changing a few things. Not too long ago we got rid of the TV. That’s been awesome. We also started a new cleaning initiative, which has been off to a slow start, but I keep reminding myself that it will pay off in the end. Progress is not as fast as I had hoped, but I have to remember that 2 of my 3 children are under the age of 4. Reasonable expectations are in order I guess. Blah blah blah. Just clean your mess.

The third thing we’re working on is the girls respecting our space and our privacy. Translation: stay the heck out of our room. If I step on a miniature Strawberry Shortcake in the middle of the night one more time, I will unleash the fury. No joke. So we’ve banned toys from our room. And we’re working on teaching the girls that if the door is closed, they have to knock. Easy. Then they have to wait. Not so easy. But they’ll get the hang of it. Initially, this meant Goo knocked, then plopped on the floor outside the bedroom or bathroom and screamed until the person inside opened the door. But we’re sticking to our guns, and usually she knocks, says, “Excuse me, Mommy, I need you.” And if I tell her to wait, she does. Most of the time. As long as no one gave her candy.

In light of this progress, I decided it was time to initiate phase 2 of Operation Get Out of Our Room. This would involve the girls playing nicely for a chunk of time while I did things like hide in my room with a glass of wine and box of cookies start dinner. The other day, I made my first attempt. In a desperate need to shower in peace, I told the girls to play for 20 minutes while Mommy got ready for the day.

Epic FAIL.

This is what I found when I came out:

Which led to this:

And this:

The chair in front of the fridge explains the pile of shredded cheese in the living room.

Why do they hate me?

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

10 responses »

  1. Woah, she has skills!

    Reply
  2. OH Man…get out of my house. I didn’t say you could come and take pictures and then post them on your blog. lol. My kids do those very same things sometimes! I have found handy little fridge locks to keep my middle one out of the shredded cheese also! AND I have an extra tall swing gate that is for the kids room. I really do hear you on this post. Sometimes I just want to shake my head, sit on the floor and cry.

    Reply
    • Hahaha! I love extra tall swing gate idea. I showed this comment to the Nerd and said, “We HAVE to get one!” Goo can climb over the regular ones, so they do no good at preventing her from spreading the chaos.

      Reply
  3. one time when i was in the shower, before i had luke, caleb and dan found the bats on the porch and i came out of the bathroom to a broken window (one of the small ones on our back door), needless to say i try to shower at night as often as i can 🙂

    Reply
  4. Wow, a lot can happen in 20 minutes, kind of scary!!

    Reply
  5. This is hilarious! How do they do that??? I’m actually dropping by to say thanks for commenting on my post at Scary Mommy months ago on the Myth of the Super Mom! You and I seem to share a love of whole grain goodies and an aversion of laundry.. Yay, us! 🙂

    Reply

Your two cents.

