RSS Feed

First steps, salted caramel, and Amish country.

Hoarders

I don't feel like cleani...oh dear God. Go get the bleach. Image via Wikipedia

I know, I know. I’ve been MIA for quite a while. I keep thinking of great post ideas, but then get distracted by things like the baby eating lip gloss and Punkin crying over the fact that 3 strands of hair fell out of her pig tails.

Most recent events: Smush is walking! And the angels rejoiced. This means I no longer have to be concerned that she’ll need physical and occupational therapy (yes, it crossed my mind. Don’t judge). And because walking is so new and exciting, I don’t have to carry her everywhere anymore! Yay for hands-free living. Sort of. We’re making progress.

Punkin started second grade. I’m in shock. She, of course, is in heaven because she loves school like a pregnant woman loves to slap the stupid out of rude strangers. Wait…what?

The Nerd and I are going away for two whole days. Alone. Well, with other adults, but sans the children. I am both elated and devastated. Two days of no crying, no whining, no messes, no diapers, no fighting. But two days of no Smush smiles, Goo giggles, Punkin snuggles, Mommy-I-love-yous. Sigh. We’ll all survive I’m sure. But I’ll miss them like crazy. Is it possible to miss them when you haven’t even left yet?

My whole house was clean yesterday. Even the basement. This last .7 seconds, but it happened. I attribute this burst of cleanliness to my recent obsession with the TV show Hoarders, which inspires me to clean like a mad woman for fear of uncovering 428 cats hiding underneath the toys. Have you ever seen that show? It is unreal, and it has one of two possible effects:

  • You clean like your life depends on it, because if you’ve seen that show, it actually does depend on it.
  • You realize that things could totally be way worse, and if the jello that the toddler knocked onto the floor sits there for a little longer, nobody is going to get the plague from it.
I try to avoid the second scenario. Especially since our house has an ant/mice problem year-round. I’m pretty anal about killing them all keeping it under control, but one can never be too careful.
.
I think that’s about it. I’m planning on taking lots of pictures on our two-day escape. Did I mention we’re going to Amish country? Oh, the writing material that will abound from this trip. My heart is aflutter. I may go buy a bonnet just so I blend in.
.
Oh, one last thing of utmost importance: Starbucks has a new drink called the Salted Caramel Mocha. It is heaven in a paper cup. I’m slightly obsessed. If you haven’t tried one, go. Immediately. If you don’t drink coffee… I’m not even sure how to finish that sentence. In fact, I’m not even sure if we can be friends anymore.
.
I kid. But seriously, it’s so delish. Even if you go decaf, it’s scrumptious.
In the meantime, I’m going to try my darndest to put more up here. Especially given the antics of my children and that really, I should have enough material for a novel.
.
But if I’m to write a novel, I might be up late. Researching and all. That would require caffeine. I feel a trip to Starbucks coming on.
About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

One response »

  1. It was so nice to meet you tonight, in my wonderful little world, aka – amish country!! I’m still recovering from all that food!

    I am so glad that I’m not the only one out there who is so horrified after watching Hoarders that I run around and sanitize my entire house. And seriously, the episodes w/ dead cats just freak me out!! Ditto on the Salted Caramel Mocha it is amazing!!

    Reply

Your two cents.

