RSS Feed

Hurricane?

We recently survived hurricane Irene. Today is our first day having power and running water back on. Naturally, I’m writing a post rather than catching up on washing dishes. Priorities, people.

A little known secret about me is that somewhere buried deep inside of me is a storm chaser, who desperately wants to see a tornado, feel an earthquake, and witness a hurricane. They’re on my bucket list. I love a good thunderstorm. And I’m not talking about some distant rumbles and a few faint flashes of lightning. I’m talking bolts of lightning, so close you don’t even have time to count before the thunder splits through the air and rattles the house. Trees bending in the wind? Be still my heart. The thought of one day seeing a tornado sets my heart aflutter.

I realize that these events are no joke. They have devastated innumerable families, and my heart goes out to those who have been victims to the fury of nature. I understand that the natural forces in our world – wind, water, electricity – can wreak absolute havoc in a moment’s notice. Maybe that’s why I’m so fascinated by them. Being that I am a born again Christian, something about the awesome power behind nature’s most furious displays reminds me of how great my God is.

That being said, the Nerd and I were completely psyched at the thought of seeing some real, live hurricane action. Where we live, it doesn’t happen often. I was too young to even remember the last one. We have well water, so we knew there was a good chance that we would not only lose power, but running water in the aftermath. We snagged some bottled water, filled the sink and washing machine, and packed the cabinets with grab-and-go food items. We have instilled the same storm-chasing tendencies in the girls, so we were snuggled up and ready to go.

The Nerd’s sister lives a few minutes away, and seeing as how hurricanes are a great excuse to party scary to face alone, she came over for our hurricane prep. Which turned into the Nerd’s friend joining us (remember the poetically/musically/lyrically brilliant member of the Nerd Squad?). This then expanded to a friend of ours from church and her 5 month old baby. That’s 9 people, 3 bedrooms, 2 babies in diapers, 3 air mattresses, 1 bathroom, and 1 hurricane.

We hung out, waiting for the storm to hit. And we waited. And waited. And waited some more. We finally had to put the girls to bed, crying because they hadn’t seen the hurricane yet. I stayed up until 2 AM, waiting for Irene to unleash the fury. Apparently even she was tired at that point, because after all our preparation, we got a glorified rain shower. I’ve seen stronger winds on a warm summer day. It was so disappointing.

Oh, but we did get to lose power. And running water. For 2.5 days. That was special. We had to fill a bucket with water from the flooded basement and carry it upstairs to the toilet every time someone went potty. Plus, we got to throw out a significant amount of food because it rotted with no fridge/freezer. Then there was packing the kids, and towels, soap, shampoo, clean clothes, etc. into the car to drive to the Nerd’s sister’s place so we could shower.

Here’s the thing: I so would not have minded, at all, if there had been an actual hurricane. Goo managed to rake up the destruction Irene left in her wake in about 5 minutes.

Irene's devastation, post Goo raking.

Disclaimer: I wasn’t hoping for utter destruction. I was praying that there would be no damage, and that no one would be hurt. But I find storms fascinating, and I really, really, really want to see one. A legitimate hurricane. Not 2 days of rain and a whole lot of inconvenience. I’m extremely thankful that we basically suffered no damages. The basement is a little moldy smelling, but we’re working on it. We’re all safe, sound, and secure, and for that I am so, so grateful.

I’d just be every so slightly more grateful if I was safe, sound, secure, and writing about the amazing storm we had just seen.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

3 responses »

  1. I heard on the radio tonight that there might be another hurricane heading your way…maybe you’ll get a…um…second chance!

    Reply
  2. I feel the exact same way. Like you, I love the excitement of a good storm, but hope and pray that there’s no irreparable damage or injuries (or worse). I live in Nova Scotia, so we knew we weren’t going to be hit too hard, but I was hoping some some good wind and maybe a power outage long enough to warrant a day off from work. They said we’d be at the height of the storm at 3am… I woke up at 3:04 and… nothing. I see the new storm that’s brewing out there has a predicted path that is somewhat favorable for a good NS storm. Fingers crossed!

    Reply

Your two cents.

