RSS Feed

Two magic words.

Moms have a special language. We have ways of communicating with perfect ambiguity, that allow us to stave off inevitable tantrums, or build up anticipation to the glorious fulfillment of the related request. We do this with two simple words:

We’ll see.

“We’ll see,” has three very distinct, very powerful meanings. Used in a variety of situations, this becomes my go-to response when Smush is crying, Goo is whining, and Punkin is pouting for the third time today because I asked her to clean the playroom 3 hours ago. The children take this phrase literally. To them, it always means, “In a little while, Mommy will decide on the outcome of my request.” But it goes much deeper than that. Take for example, a request for movie time before bed.

Children: Mommy, can we watch a movie before bedtime?

Me: We’ll see.

Children: * whispering to each other* Mommy said, “We’ll see!” That means maybe we can!

My actual meaning depends on the circumstances of the day.

  1. We’ll see = Heck to the no. Let’s review the day’s events, shall we? Goo woke me up with a tantrum because I wouldn’t let her have ice cream for breakfast. Smush is cutting teethand my eardrums have been bleeding since 6 AM. Punkin has managed to roll her eyes so many times that I think they actually did get stuck that way for a minute. I started attacking the laundry pile 9 hours ago and I still have 27 loads left to do. You left the markers out and Smush colored all over herself, my new purse, and your library book.

    My motto.

    I’ve vacuumed 3 times today and the floor is still gross. Off hand, I’m going to say, “No.” No, we aren’t watching a flipping movie before bed. At this point, be thankful if I allow you to pee before hitting the hay, because I. am. so. done. But for now, I’m going to say, “We’ll see,” because the thought of one more eye roll/tantrum/screaming fit makes me want to sit in the corner in the fetal position.

  2. We’ll see = Oh, heck yes. Daddy and I already planned on Family Movie Popcorn Snuggle Night. Because we haven’t had a night at home as a family in 5 weeks. Because Daddy and I have had an obligation to church/extended family/friends/work every. single. day for over a month, and if we don’t get some quality family time in soon, we might start banging our heads against the wall, just because that would justify our saying, “Sorry, we can’t make it. We have headaches.” Because we know that you guys need some Mommy/Daddy time, and we love how you get all excited and act like you just won the lotto when we tell you  that you get to stay up late with us. Because yesterday Goo had 14 time-outs, Smush cried 32 times throughout the day, and Punkin took it all in stride. Because we love you guys so much we could burst, and we totally need to squeeze you guys and enjoy just being … together. …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
  3. We’ll see = we’ll see. I’m not sure yet. Your behavior has been acceptable, but not remarkable. I have plenty of coffee, Daddy said we could order pizza, and Tangled is now on Netflix so that could be fun. Here’s the deal: pick up toys, no whining, eat your veggies, and we can watch a movie later. Deal?

    Yes. Maybe. I don't know yet. We'll see.

I love those two words. Because although Mommy can simultaneously do 5 different things, while planning out the week’s schedule, remembering to pick up garlic for the chicken piccata she’s making for dinner with the in-laws, carry Smush on one hip and wrangle Goo out of time-out with the free hand, and remind Punkin to practice her math facts, I don’t actually want to take on anything else right now. Not even a simple decision of yes or no.
.
I have no idea how long my magic words will remain effective. At some point, they’re bound to start reasoning that on bad days, “We’ll see” usually means, “No.” On good days, yes. On regular days, maybe. And then they’ll start asking if it means yes, no, or maybe.
.
And when then happens, my response will be:
.
Does it mean yes, no, or maybe? I’m not sure yet. We’ll see.
About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

2 responses »

  1. I ♥ You! You are in my head…lol

    Reply
  2. To Hudson, “we’ll see” means “yes”. He comes back later with “but you said I could (fill in the blank here).” Fun times.

    Reply

Your two cents.

