RSS Feed

I love me some hooker shoes. Just not for my three year old.

I love shoes. I love shopping for my girls. But I loathe shoe shopping for my girls.

Punkin has wide feet. Sorry, kiddo. The Nerd and I both share that trait, and we spread the love to you. I apologize now, because you will spend the rest of your life having to order shoes online because nobody carries wide width shoes except for the cheap store (by the way, the “cheap” applies more to the fact that after purchasing several pairs, I discovered they literally fall apart after about 2 months). Designers make shoes for pretty feet. Unless you’re looking for that orthopedic, granny look. Then you’re all set. But heaven forbid you need a black leather pump. You’ll have to peruse the 11 billion sites on the internet to find one that looks good and costs less than $250.

And for now, the prices of shoes for your little feet. Oh. My. Word. We’re talking an average of $50 for sneakers that you will cover in grass stains and only fit in for 3.5 weeks. Okay, maybe a little longer, but still. And even after spending half of Daddy’s paycheck on a pair of sneaks, it’s nothing compared to the seizure inducing experience that is trying to find her dress shoes.

Have you seen what’s out there? You know how old I was when I got to wear my first kitten heel? FOURTEEN, people. And I find that completely appropriate. So why, please tell me, is this what I find when I take her shoe shopping:

The black patent leather peep toe wedge. Perfect for that LBD or dressing up your favorite jeans. If you're 20.

 

These are cute. FOR ME.

Girls’ shoes should be designed with the following criteria in mind:

  • Is it comfortable?
  • Will it NOT give them bunions before they enter 3rd grade?
  • Can they run through the grass, or at least walk, without any extra help in the falling down department?
  • Do they look like a “lady of the night?”
I recently brought Goo shopping for summer sandals. I was so excited because she was blessed to not inherit our fat feet genes, and I can find shoes to fit her cute little tootsies pretty much anywhere. Unless I don’t want her to look like a hooker.
.
I had three criteria in mind:
  1. Is it easy to put on? Because if you think I’m fastening those microscopic little buckles while she begs for freedom, you can think again.
  2. Is it flat? Goo is a tough cookie. She’s the kid who, when I put her to bed, find that she’s got two skinned knees and three bruises on her arm. She shakes it off. But that doesn’t mean I’m looking for heels to help her test gravity, thanks.
  3. Will it give her blisters? My feet barely get blisters anymore. I’ve abused them for so long that I’m surprised my skin hasn’t just been replaced with leather. But Goo’s little feet are delicate. And if she wants to shove them into 4.5 inch blue patent leather pumps when she’s 20, go for it (I know I do. They’re my favorite shoes). But I’d like to keep her little feet well cared for until then.
  4. Is it half my grocery budget? Because she needs shoes, but we still need to eat.
I could. not. find. shoes that met all three of those standards. Which, in my opinion, is a little ridiculous. She’s three, people. THREE. Yes, I love the white strappy sandal with silver sparkles. I hate the 2 inch wedge. Yes, I love the rainbow flats. I hate the velcro strap that has all the sticking power of olive oil and comes off every time she wiggles her toes. Ooh! I LOVE the little flower ones with bright colors. I hate the thong style that gives her blisters between her toes after she wore them for an hour. And bled on them so I couldn’t return them.

These come in toddler sizes. What the what?

Sigh. I shake my head at you, world of children’s fashion. It shouldn’t be so unheard of to want my little girl to look like a girl. Life circumstances forced me to grow up way too fast. I want my babies to enjoy being babies. To look like babies. I’m not opposed to a kitten heel for the eighth grade graduation. But kindergarten graduation? I think not.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

11 responses »

  1. It’s time to go barefoot.

    Reply
  2. Hahahahahahahahaha! You said it! WTW…What the what?!?!?! Craziness!

    Reply
  3. First off let me say thank you for giving me a glimpse into what I have to look forward to with my 9 month old daughter 🙂 I had no idea shoe shopping could be so difficult and you bring up excellent points regarding the qualifications for an appropriate child shoe…

    I appreciate that you bring up the point that we should let our babies enjoy being babies! In todays society children are forced to grow up far too quickly.. they are exposed to a lot of adult content and talk about adult things at earlier and earlier ages. Apparently this trend has translated into children’s fashion.. it’s sad. I say we moms bond together and take back our children’s childhood!!

    Reply
    • If your little girl doesn’t have wide feet, it will probably be easier for you. But sad to say, it is becoming harder and harder to find little girl clothes that look like little girl clothes. I’m all for taking back childhood! Now if we could just get the fashion designers on board… 🙂

      Reply
  4. now I know I have complained in the past about shopping for my son because it is so boring. boys clothes are pretty much the same EVERYWHERE but after reading this and also knowing how much you struggle to find MODEST clothing for the girls I will never complain again. Yes my son has wide feet but I will never have to worry about heels, butterfly thongs and all the other stuff you mentioned in here.. wow its amazing the pressure society places on these young girls to grow up so fast and I commend you for not giving into it and teaching your girls how to be modest.

    Reply
    • It is definitely hard. And I absolutely agree that society places too much pressure on them to grow up so fast. There should be NO pressure to grow up too quickly. Sigh. It’s working though. Punkin has her own style, for sure, but she’s always covered. And not wearing 3 inch pumps.

      Reply
  5. i never knew shopping for girl’s shoes was so difficult, i just always thought they looked so cute in their girly clothes 🙂

    Reply
  6. am so thankful I have boys!!!! I used to complain because Dillon wore a size 14 shoe and I had to order them but shoot I had it easy I see. I commend you for how you are raising your girls.

    Reply
  7. Luckily the only one with “fat feet” is Kye! We had to order stride rite extra wide! Though when all else fails, we go with CROCS! They fit them all!! But I have boys, and I am not into heels!!

    Reply

Your two cents.

