RSS Feed

How NOT to wake me up in the morning.

Posted on

What is it about kids and the wee hours of the morning? Sometimes I’ve peeked in on my girls just as they’re waking up. They lay in bed for a few minutes, letting the sleepy wear off, and undoubtedly plotting the most annoying way to get me out of bed. The science of waking up a mom is not that difficult. Listen carefully children:

  1. Wake up.
  2. Prepare a fresh pot of coffee for your exhausted, overworked, under-appreciated mother.
  3. Approach her quietly, and whisper softly, “Good morning, Mommy. I love you so much. And here’s your piping hot coffee in your favorite mug, because I glued it all back together after it broke.”

Tell it like it is, girlfriend.

Is that so hard for a one/three/six year old?
My mornings are generally much, much different. Example:
  1. Honey, wake up! Do you smell nail polish?
  2. Mommy, I threw up.
  3. *Tip toe into my room.* I open my eyes. Cue full on screaming, kicking, ear-splitting tantrum. At 5:45 in the morning.
  4. Mommy. Mommy. Mommy, I did poo poo on my floor.
  5. Mommy. I want chocolate milk. Mommy, I want chocolate milk! Mommy, c’mooooooooooon. I. want. CHOCOLATE MILK!!!

    See the shadow of the little girl? The looks a lot like the puddle of nail polish that was poured all over my comforter. Before the sun came up.

  6. “Mommy, can we snuggle with you?” “Sure, hop in.” Whispers: Punkin, I see your sparkle nails? No, Goo, not right now. Punkin, I see your nails! C’mon Punkin c’mon! I see your nails! Pleeeaassseee! I see your nails! NO GOO! I just want to sleep!  *Crying, yelling, me tying the children to their beds with duct tape and installing sound proof walls*
  7. *The Nerd walking around in a very grumpy mood.* Me: How come you’re grumpy this morning? Nerd: I didn’t sleep well last night, okay? (This is when my eye starts twitching. I cannot imagine what it must be like to not get a good night’s rest. Because I always feel SUPER refreshed after getting up to help with middle-of-the-night potty breaks, water requests, crying babies, snoring husbands, and aching hips/neck/back. Every. Single. Night. Do people actually sleep through the night? I thought that only happened in movies.
So let this be a lesson to my children: payback is a funny thing. You have no. freakin. idea. how good you have it with me. Because right now, I wake you up with a gentle back rub, kiss on the cheek, and a soothing, “Good morning, little sweetie. It’s time to get up.”
.
But so help me, if I wake up to one more tantrum/empty bowel on the carpet/sibling rivalry dispute/ginormous, uncleanable mess before 9:00 AM, you’ll be spending your high school years waking up to the sound of a fog horn. And a kiss on the cheek.
About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

3 responses »

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHAH! BETH 🙂 this was awesome!!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 1 Bad Mom » Blog Archive » I’ll Give You Something to Cry About!

  3. That is great!

    Reply

Your two cents.

