RSS Feed

It’s the little things that matter most. Like, really little.

Posted on
Cover of "The Cricket in Times Square"

The inspiration behind it all. It began with a book. It will end with a dream fulfilled: a trip to real, live news stand.

I’ve written tales before of how Punkin amazes me on a regular basis. She’s done it again. Twice.

This year for her school’s One School, One Book program, the entire school read The Cricket in Times Square, a tale of a cricket from CT who travels by train to NYC and explores the wonders therein. Technically, the parents were supposed to read it to the kids. But Punkin read all but the first chapter herself. We aren’t even sure what her reading level is because she tested beyond the highest level on her reading evaluations. We have to wait until the end of the year when the higher level exam can be given. And yes, I’m bragging. I don’t do it often, because usually these posts are filled with tales of how my three year old has won in an epic battle against me. Again. And again. And again.

As a big birthday celebration, the Nerd has planned the ultimate Daddy-daughter date: a whole day in NYC, complete with train tickets, a trip to F.A.O. Schwartz, a slice of pizza, and of course, a trip to Times Square.

We don’t get to lavish lots of material things on our kids. The only activities they participate in are church related or through our city’s parks and rec department, because we can’t afford real soccer teams or dance lessons.

But Punkin never complains. She’s so excited for every little blessing that comes her way. And even when she asks for something, it’s usually something small. But they’re always big to her.

Our most recent examples: Anxiously awaiting her big day in NYC, she came up to me and made her first big request.

Punkin: Mommy, umm, do you think maybe Daddy and I could do something special in New York?

Me: Maybe. What something special do you want to do?

Punkin: Well, do you think maybe we could visit a real news stand???

Me: … Yes, Punkin. I think Daddy can take you to visit a real news stand.

Punkin: REALLY?!? WOO HOO!

The news stand played a big role in the book, so I completely understand where the fascination came from. I’m still just blown away by the fact that amongst kids her age asking for designer shoes (I kid you not), she’s asking to stop at a “real news stand” for her birthday celebration. I love her.

Second example came from another birthday discussion.

Punkin: I don’t know. I can’t really think of anything I need.

Me: (It’s a birthday, and she can’t think of anything she needs. She’s that content. I need to be like her.)

Me: Nothing? There’s not one thing you’d like to get for a birthday present?

They come in multi-packs AND rainbow colors. This is going to blow. her. mind.

Punkin: Ooh! I know! Do you think I could maybe get an erasable pen?

Me: … Yes, Punkin, I bet somebody could buy you an erasable pen for your birthday. Is there anything else you might like?

Punkin: No, that’s it. Just an erasable pen.

I repeat: I. Love. Her.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

4 responses »

  1. Oh my….I instantly started crying! I am constantly trying to get over materialistic tendencies… I want to be more like Punkin too!

    Reply
  2. 🙂 Punkin ministers to me all the time 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sweet girl,, come to my house and grab all the eraseable pens that you can carry out of my junk drawer! What a innocent heart!

    Reply

Your two cents.

