RSS Feed

Does any of it actually make it in their mouths?

Posted on

Smush has had a rough winter. Numerous colds, stomach bugs, teeth forging their way through tender gums – it left her no less happy, but much less hungry. As in she dropped from the 75% in weight to the 10% in weight between her 6 month and 12 month check ups.

It is no secret that I’m a total science nerd educated in things related to the human body. Part of that is nutrition. I grew up on white bread, white pasta, canned soup, and – when Dad was in charge – peanut butter and potato chip sandwiches. And I survived. But with my kids, I’m all about making those calories count: whole grains, veggies in every color of the rainbow, healthy proteins, unsaturated fats. And preferably without hormones or antibiotics added, though I haven’t won the lotto yet so those usually don’t go in the cart. Plus a healthy dose of ice cream and chicken nuggets thrown in for good measure. And my sanity.

But I digress. Smush, who was born to eat, essentially stopped eating solid foods and lost a lot of weight. Come to find out, she was cutting some serious teeth AND had a urinary tract infection, so she was not a happy camper. But this left me no less concerned about her weight. And the fact that she was also anemic.

I spent the national deficit in Pediasure drinks and supplements, and started helping her pack on the pounds. And she’s been great. She’s right back to chowing down like it’s her job. Because at 12 months old, it kind of is her job.

She’s a regular tray clearer. If the food is on there, she eats it. And not with that wimpy pincer grasp babies are supposed to use. She shovels it in. Which makes me happy because I’m super paranoid about her gaining weight and getting adequate nutrition. Tonight was no exception. For dinner I made chicken and vegetable stir fry with whole grain rice. And her tray was practically licked clean. Which made me think, “Look how well she ate!”

And then I found this:

So glad I'm spending countless dollars and hours trying to give her the perfect balance of nutrition. Because those perfectly balanced meals are such a nice addition to her high chair seat.

Yeah. Sometimes I wonder if any of it actually makes it into her mouth. And then I remember that I also spend the national deficit in diapers and wipes. Clearly she’s eating something.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

2 responses »

  1. Seriously…write a book! That’s all I wanted to say 🙂

    Reply
  2. LOL you make me laugh I love this

    Reply

Your two cents.

