RSS Feed

My six-year-old, the poet. Also, why I should be saving for her therapy.

Posted on

Punkin had to write a book of poems for school. These are my favorites, though the first gives me cause for concern.

Fighting

It’s my turn on the slide.

My sister fights with me.

I get somewhere first.

My sister fights with me.

I climb up the slide.

My sister fights with me.

I climb up the ladder.

My sister fights with me.

The end.

Snowflakes

Snowflakes, snowflakes

White as a cloud

Quiet as a mouse

Soft as a cat

Snowflakes

Cheeseburger

Cheeseburger

Hot and yummy.

Burger and cheese

Makes a cheeseburger.

Yum!

Music

Music

Soft, beautiful

sounds. Loud

and quiet.

Music.

Help!

Help! I’m stuck!

Help! Do you hear me?

I’m…out.

She's also visually expressive. It rains candy sprinkles in her world.

I took the time to psychoanalyze these poems. You know, because I took 5 pyschology courses in college. Clearly I’m qualified. These are the conclusions I’ve drawn:

  1. It is quite apparent that the animosity between her and Goo is causing psychological damage that will no doubt require therapy to reverse. Goo’s intensely competitive spirit and classic three-year-old inability to regularly share or surrender are causing problems. I should start saving for therapy now.
  2. I let her eat too much junk food. Why couldn’t she write a poem about whole grains? Or dark, leafy greens? She likes spinach. And brussel sprouts. But now the teacher thinks I’m the mom who’s idea of “cooking” is defrosting chicken nuggets. You know, for those nights that we can’t make it to the local drive through for a cheeseburger.
  3. We neglect her. Her cry for help is obviously both a literal and figurative cry. She’s stuck in a world where she needs us to release her, and forced to make her escape on her own. I repeat: start saving for therapy now.
  4. Snow and music are her only escapes. Why? Because she can play outside, away from the insanity that is our house. And because in her music, there are no crying babies, nagging Moms, or belligerent three-year-olds.
 Obviously I’m kidding about the therapy. Her first poem made the Nerd and I literally laugh out loud. And she clearly has a better grasp of meter and artistic expression than I do.
.
On a side note, anybody know a good child psychologist?
About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

One response »

  1. Oh my gosh! bahaaahha! My fav is the cheeseburger Hot and Yummy! love it

    Reply

Your two cents.

