RSS Feed

The Ugliest Mother’s Day Card Ever.

Posted on

I hate Mother’s Day.

I know, I know. I have three beautiful, amazing daughter’s that bring me love, joy, and the occasional migraine. I wouldn’t trade them for the world.

But the start of the Mother’s Day (MD) season brings constant reminders of how amazing my mom was. And how much she isn’t here. I spend three days crying on and off because I can’t decide whether to dwell on all the good memories, or not think about it because I did inherit one thing from my mother: the worst crying face ever. Seriously. My nose kind of swells and gets all red, and my eyes look like I got shot with pepper spray. It’s not pretty.

But in spite of the pain, Hallmark has made a way to boost their quarterly sales  remind every mother just how appreciated she is. That is, if your husband goes to the store and buys a card that eloquently expresses the beauty in each and every sacrifice we make for our families.

Mine doesn’t.

The Nerd is kind of artsy, and very unique, so he makes his own MD cards. This year, he really outdid himself. Keep in mind, the last three days have, umm, sucked. I miss my mom. We had enough money for one MD gift, which goes to my Mom-in-law (who TOTALLY deserves it. For real. So no hard feelings there). So I already new my “gift” would be scrambling to get the girls ready for church while trying to drink a cold cup of coffee and listening to at least one of them scream constantly. I didn’t even score the free gifts, like those homemade certificates for a night off from cooking, or a day out of the house, or a narcotic and bottle of wine to help get me through the next 18 years day.

But what I did get this morning, was this:

Happy Mother's Day. I'm going to eat you.

It reads: The finest of mothers is what you are. Happy Mother’s Day.

I know. You’re jealous, aren’t you? Because while you were being served breakfast in bed (at 9 freaking AM), I was receiving this before 6:30 because Smush woke me up. Ooh, and then came the present: a full blown screaming fit from Goo because I said, “Good morning, little Goo!” Yeah. Happy Mother’s Day.

It wasn’t all that bad though. While you were checking the calendar to see when you could use that spa gift certificate, there was the second full blown tantrum from Goo because I poured myself a cup of coffee before I poured her a bowl of cereal. That was sweet, too.

Sigh. This may be a bit harsh, but I really just kind of loathe Mother’s Day.

I do have to give credit where credit is due, though. Punkin made me the most awesome. card. ever. at school. It’s ginormous and says things like:

  • I like it when my mom gives me squeezy hugs.
  • My mom is as pretty as prettier than a flower (rose).
  • My mom is smart. She even knows 100 plus 100.
She then promises to give me hugs every day, clean her room, and do her chores. And you can bet your bippy I’m holding her to all of those. Especially the hugs.
.
So yes, MD kind of sucks for me. Every year. My mom will never be here, so even if I woke up to a brand new, red Mazda 5 parked in the driveway (hint hint. wink wink.) it would still be bittersweet.
.
But in the end, I got a one-of-a-kind, super original card from the Nerd. And a wonderfully sweet, thoughtful card from Punkin. And two full-blown tantrums from Goo before 8 AM. Hey, you can’t win ’em all. But you sure can love them anyway.
About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Ugliest Mother’s Day Card Ever. | Kids say :

  2. Pingback: Day 128 – will I never learn? « Life with Lizzi

  3. Pingback: Cleaning 102 – The Breaking Point. « Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

  4. Pingback: Mother’s Day gift ideas for when my girls are mothers. « Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

  5. Pingback: I’m back – with mediocre tidbits. « Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

Your two cents.

