RSS Feed

Signs of Spring.

Spring has arrived, technically. But where I live, it seems the calendar is always a bit ahead of nature. Since I’ve come to realize I can’t count on crocuses and leaf buds to align themselves with the seasonal guidelines of my calendar, I’ve discovered a few other harbingers of spring:
  1. I shaved my legs.
  2. My husband clipped his toe nails.
  3. There are 42 loads of laundry to do in the basement because I have to switch out winter clothes and prep the spring clothes.
  4. The weather forecast is more of a guess on the part of the meteorologists, and resembles the image below.

    Mother Nature is bipolar. Seriously.

  5. I forget to have Punkin do her homework because I’m so excited that the kids can play outside, I send them straight out when Punkin gets home from school. They briefly return to their shelter for dinner, and then I ship them back out the door. Sorry, homework. I’ve been waiting 6 months for this.
  6. My house doesn’t smell like bolognese sauce/dirty diapers in the garbage/the lotion Goo spilled on the floor/ because I can finally open the windows.
  7. We eat everything grilled. All the time. Because Daddy handles the grill, and I handle the not cooking.
  8. My house is cleanish. That way I can open the doors and windows and not care if people see in.
  9. My car is clean. Even on the inside.
  10. I sink into a severe depression because I know what is looming just around the corner… Bathing. Suit. Season.
  11. Punkin gets on the bus in a winter coat and hat, and gets off the bus in the afternoon wearing a tank top and flip flops. Because in the morning, it’s 30 degrees, and in the afternoon, it’s 75.
  12. My hands are freezing because I refuse to wear a winter coat or gloves in April. Refuse.

Here’s hoping the snow days are over, the warm breezes start blowing, and the laundry does itself.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

One response »

  1. Cool post and I hope you are ushering a lovely spring soon.

    Reply

Your two cents.

