RSS Feed

Abercrombie & Ditch

Is anyone else as enraged by this as I am? I’ve never been a big fan of A & F, but this takes their scum-level to new heights. Or depths.

Several years ago, Abercrombie and Fitch produced a line of t-shirts for young teens that sported phrases like, “Flash the twins,” and, “Who need brains when you’ve got these?” I don’t know that I’ve ever met a company whose purpose was simply two-fold:

  1. To make money.
  2. To single-handedly destroy the self-esteem and worth of today’s young girls.

I knew they were low. Any store that markets to young girls and decorates their walls and bags with pictures that would make Hugh Hefner blush is worthy of being shut down, forever. And personally funding Dove’s Real Beauty campaign. For the rest of their lives.

Crawl back into your ditch, Abercrombie. My girls are worth more than this.

However, my jaw hit the floor when I saw their newest line of bathing suits for 8 to 14-year-old girls. Why? Because the new look for 3rd graders is…drum roll please…”breast enhancing,” fully padded push-up bikini tops.

I just threw up in my mouth. Nothing says, “Hey! Child predator! Over here!” like sexualizing a little girl who hasn’t even made it half way through elementary school yet. Children are not sexual beings, I don’t give a crap what Sigmund Freud thought. They are pure, innocent (at least in the sex department. Maybe not so much the sneaking into the make-up bag department). They should be kept that way for as long as possible. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t be honest with our daughters. That we shouldn’t prepare them for the tsunami of media garbage that will endlessly attempt to demean, belittle, and persecute their self-esteem.

On the contrary, I am very open with Punkin about those issues. We walk through the mall, and comment on how certain clothing displays are inappropriate. That they aren’t meant to enhance true beauty. That a girl is truly beautiful when she is an example of love, grace, intelligence, humor, and modesty. And that Abercrombie and Fitch should be outlawed.

Because a little girl should look like a little girl. And grow up knowing that she is more than a chest measurement.

I’m fighting daily to teach my girls where their true value lies. As they get older, I’ll talk more about the guy aspect of it: if a guy pursues you because you flaunt your chest (or, as A & F would have it, because you flaunt the padding made to draw every child predator in a 100 yard radius), that boy isn’t worth it. When she meets a boy who respects her enough to wait; who loves her enough to see the worth beyond her measurements; who values her enough to never, ever, encourage her to compromise – that one is a keeper. My girls have a living, breathing example of this every day in their beloved Daddy. A man who treats me with love and respect, and does the same for them. To the moms who may not have this: take heart. You can fight the onslaught of media manipulation by talking to your little darlings. By being real with them. And by never, ever buying them a padded push-up bikini.

So, A & F, I thank you. For fueling my fire. For giving me yet another example of how the media, and scum-sucking companies preying on girls’ self-esteem in exchange for the almighty dollar, will attempt to belittle my precious gems. To make them mere shadows of the light that they really are. But have no fears. I’m bringing it, and I’m bringing it hard. You won’t win this battle.

And Abercrombie? You can crawl back into the ditch from whence you came. Thanks.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

7 responses »

  1. 🙂 Saw the article on Fox news this morning and immediately thought of you.
    You are an awesome mom.

    Reply
  2. Amen, Sista! I am disgusted at the constant defamation to the female character! We are soo much more than our looks! Let em have it!

    Reply
  3. You said it well, Mediocre Mum, and I want to give my hats off to you for speaking out against what Abercrombie and Fitch is doing. Just want you to know that you are not alone and although I may not be a mum (and I am a young lady), but hey, I can say it loud with you: hypser-sexualised marketing for kids sucks! Oh yeah, I am mad as hell as you are now seeing all the rubbish marketing A & F is promoting. Those padded and push up bikini tops from A & F are better off dumped in a burning incinerator. Last but not least, keep it up.

    Reply
    • Thank you! It’s great to know that other women out there are standing up for the same thing, and not just for their kids, but for themselves!

      Reply
  4. Amen!!! I don’t have girls but I want to teach my boys to look byond the measurement and find a girl with true beauty. And I will echo Kelly’s statement You are an awesome mom!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Parenting FAIL Friday – Accessories make the outfit. « Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

Your two cents.

