RSS Feed

I blame Caillou.

Are there any parents out there that actually like Caillou? Goo is in love with it, and I let her watch for it a while, until I noticed a new trend:

Whining. Incessant, annoying, high-pitched, nails-on-a-chalkboard, whining. I blame it on Caillou.

Caillou, I gave you a warning that you needed to stop the whining. You are now going straight to time-out. For eternity.

Does that child even have the ability to speak in a normal voice? “Mooooommmmy, Rosie took my cup!” “Daaaaaadddddyyy, I want to help with the magnets!” “Graaaaaandpaaaa, why hasn’t anyone taken me to the doctor for my alopecia?”

*Science Geek moment: alopecia is hair loss, from the body, or scalp, often as a result of an autoimmune reaction. The body attacks the hair follicles and partial, or total, hair loss is the result.

Covering up the problem doesn't make it go away. Caillou's mom and dad, you need to face the problem head on. Admit he has alopecia, then get him the help he needs.

Yeah, let me side track on that for a second. The kid is four years old. He’s either got alopecia, or a serious vitamin deficiency. Either way, his obvious medical needs are being ignored. What kid is on the verge of kindergarten and still doesn’t have a hair on his head? His parents are clearly ignoring a very real issue that could cause him extensive play ground drama for years to come. What kind of an example does that set?

Also, I would love to have his mom’s job. They have a nice home, though I personally disagree with the decor.   All white with primary color accents just doesn’t do it for me. But they’re also rocking a sweet family car, Caillou is enrolled in preschool, they seem to have whatever they need without having to check the budget, and she goes to work about 1 out of every 10 episodes. I could totally handle a well-paying job that only required me to work once every other week.

But there’s the whining. Oh, the whining. There’s just something about that little boy’s voice that makes me we want to stab my ear with a fork. And Goo has picked up on that. She loves the whine. She uses it. All. The. Time.  So guess what?

Caillou went into time-out. Forever. Caillou has gone to that big time-out chair in the sky, and he’s never coming back to this house.

Goo now asks to watch it by saying, “Mommy, can I watch Caillou? Caillou’s all done whining!” Deep down, I know she knew how to whine all by herself. That she didn’t need an outside influence. That I can’t actually blame Caillou. But if I can reinforce my disdain for whining by banning him to eternal time-out, so be it. Plus, that’s one less fork I have to drive into my ear on a daily basis.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

2 responses »

  1. My brother is currently 24 and watched this show day in and day out for years. He did not whine he did not throw temper tantrums or get everything that he wanted. We were taught that you get what you need and sometimes you get prizes or toys(from the dollar store) if you behaved well and used your manners. My brother loves the show and grew up perfectly normal. Just like any child out there if they did or didn’t watch the show. Kids now do not get disciplined like they used to and personally I believe that is the reason. My children are 6 and 2, sometimes they act out but that’s what children do. They test limits and see how far they can go. If you keep them busy and playing instead of staring at a tv or computer or game console they will be happier and less likely to throw fits. For the most part even though my kids watch this show they do well(now I may not like it and cannot stand his voice but my children like it and see how silly he is.). They sometimes make jokes and say if he did this instead he would have more fun, if he did that maybe he would have gotten what he wanted. They understand more if you explain things to them. I do it think the show should be banned it has been on the air for over a decade.

    Reply
    • I think you missed the humor. This blog is very…sarcastic. 🙂 Very little should be taken seriously. Believe me, everything needs to taken with a spoonful of sugar, so to speak. 🙂

      Reply

Your two cents.

