RSS Feed

I have these gummy bears for sale…

I have a confession to make: my kids probably eat too much candy. I don’t give it to them by the bag or anything, but really, the ideal would be for them to never get it at home. That way when we go to Grandma’s house and the first thing they see is the giant bowl of lollipops, I don’t have to feel too guilty.

But it doesn’t usually work that way, and here’s why: I’m selfish. Horribly selfish. I risk my kids’ dental hygiene for my own personal gain. What, you ask, could I possibly gain from letting my kids eat candy? Three words:

Hugs. And. Kisses.

Example: This morning, Goo spotted a small bag of gummy fruits from Harry and David, given to us by a friend. She came up to me, with this ridiculously angelic face, and said, “Mommy, can I have colors? Please? colors from the kitchen?”

I had a choice: deny the request, and offer a delicious, healthy banana, which would have absolutely been rejected, instead of the candy. Or grant the request, and get not just any hug, but a squeezy hug, AND a kiss, out of the deal. Guess which one I opted for? Thirty seconds and a hug and kiss later, Goo was seated in the dining area, happily eating two gummy fruits. Sigh. I’m so weak.

If he were holding a piece of gummy fruit, this could be me. On a daily basis.

Now let me defend myself a bit here. I don’t just grant candy requests willy-nilly. And there are plenty of times when the answer is just, “No. You cannot have candy.” And even when the answer is yes, it usually requires the consumption of a healthy food first. But I’m a hug-and-kiss addict. I can’t get enough of them from my kids. Or my husband. Or total strangers…

That last one was a joke. The good news is, Punkin gives, and even asks for, hugs and kisses. So maybe in a few years, I won’t have to sell candy in exchange for affection from Goo.

But until then, I’m keeping a bag of sweet tarts on hand. Just in case.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

4 responses »

  1. I am so glad I am not the only one!! I am a candy fiend myself…and we usually have it around the house.

    Reply
  2. A kindred mom. 🙂 I think more often than not parents are willing to trade a treat for a hug. They just don’t like to admit it…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Sometimes, you gotta break the rules. | Confessions of a Mediocre Mom

  4. I totally bribe for hugs, otherwise I would never catch him or get him to stop long enough to give me some love.

    Kelly

    Reply

Your two cents.

