RSS Feed

I like pipers, heppalumps, and paying in the nose.

My two-year old is growing up. Goo had a veritable cornucopia of baby words that made my heart smile every time I heard them. Favorites included pipers (diapers), heppalumps (elephants), and paying in the nose (playing in the snow). Tonight as my husband and I discussed how she is progressing with recognizing letters and pronouncing words, he announced that we no longer have “pipers” in the house, but diapers. I responded, “But I like pipers, heppalumps, and paying in the nose.”

It’s not that I don’t think our children learning to speak properly is important. Of course I do. But Goo’s learning to say words correctly, as she is doing, means she is growing up. Pesky kids keep doing that no matter how many times I tell them not to. That seems to be a trend this year. I was looking at pictures of our oldest daughter over the last year. It’s like she started aging in dog years, I swear. Shortly after her birthday last year, she was a little girl. A few months away from her birthday, she seems three years older. Is that possible? I keep telling her I’m going to make her turn six again this year. She disagrees.

So several things will occur in response to this “growing up” my daughters keep doing. These are my resolutions:

  1. I will embrace and enjoy all the changes that come with my daughters growing up.
  2. I will never rush this process. All too soon, they will have to face the realities and responsibilities of this world. I prefer to shelter them just a bit longer.
  3. I will not hinder this process. Exposure to cultures, experience, life, is not only unavoidable, but essential to their becoming strong, young women.
  4. I will treasure each stage, from crawling to climbing, kindergarten to college. I only get to raise them once, and I’m going to cherish it.
  5. I will not treasure each moment. I’m sorry, but those times that I catch my two-year old picking her nose – I could do without those.
  6. I will love them no matter what. I will help them through all the bumps they face as they grow.

And I will continue to use the term “heppalumps” for as long as I can.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

One response »

  1. Christy mccullough

    We do English riding, and when the horse trots you are supposed to post a certain way, going up when the outside leg is coming forward. This is called diagonals, but K would say at age 6 she was having trouble with her dinagonals. Now at 8 she’s learned the right word (though still not how to always nail it. But this lets me call out “check your dinagonals” and get a jump on embarrassing my kids)

    Reply

Your two cents.

