RSS Feed

What I do all day.

What I do all day.

As a stay at home mom, I’ve gotten flack from time to time about what I do all day. My all time favorite comments are:

  1. My life isn’t like yours. I can’t just do whatever I need to do when I need to do it. I don’t always have time for things the way you do.
  2. So umm…what exactly did you do all day?

Answers:

  1. So what can you do when you need to? Do you get to pee sometimes? With the door closed? That’s like a freaking vacation.
  2. Oh umm, I did nothing. Besides 3 loads of laundry. And breakfast/lunch/dinner/two snacks. And a 9o minute battle with our three year old who has an iron clad will and refused to take a nap even after I let her scream for half an hour. And bath time x3. And getting the black marker off the wall in the dining room. But hey, know what I didn’t do today? Have a complete, coherent thought. Or get a lunch break. Or, come to think of it, pee in the last 8 hours.

Not every day is like that mind you, but there are some that most definitely are. For those of you who have children who don’t seem to fall into any of the parenting book categories, I feel your pain. Because I had one day this week where 90 minutes of my time were spent trying to calm down Goo from a raging tantrum involving kicking, throwing, hitting, and almost breaking the door jam. NINETY. MINUTES.  And before you get all Judgy McJudgerson on me, I know how to do time outs. I know how to ignore. I judged those moms in the past. And then I had a kid who honest to goodness didn’t respond the way she’s supposed to. And now I never judge a tantrum. And I never wonder why houses are messy, why Moms are crying, or how you could forget to pee. Trust me, you just can. And that day this week, I cried. Real, caffeine saturated tears. But that’s another post, and this one is funny because my kids are all in bed and I’m happy and drinking coffee at 9:30 at night so I can stay up to finish cleaning the house.

You’ve probably seen those graphics circulating online that do a comparison on any given topic of what society thinks, what parents think, what you think, and what actually happens. I’m sure there’s one for Moms out there, but I haven’t seen one yet, so I made a cheesy one myself.

Allow me a few disclaimers: the Nerd is actually pretty understanding if he comes home and the house looks like I did umm…nothing…all day. So don’t hate on him. He’s a good guy. And in his defense, he opened the silverware drawer the other day and said, “Honey! You did all the dishes! The clean forks are actually in the drawer! Thank you!” And he was serious. Wife FAIL.

Those of you who have multiple children will totally get this picture. Those of you who want kids some day will chuckle and think, “Oh, Mediocre Mom, you so crazy. It’s not that bad.” Two words for you: just wait.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

5 responses »

  1. So true! Even with 1 child things can get crazy, its hard to even try to explain it to someone who doesn’t have kids.

    Reply
  2. There really is no way to understand it until you are in the situation yourself. My husband works from home so he can be there for our kids and I catch myself wondering sometimes, why didn’t __________ get done? Then I’ll have a day at home with the kids and I’ll remember.
    I have a friend who’s pregnant and a while ago said something to the effect of she knew what it was going to be like to have kids because a lot of her friends have them. These are friends she’s only in contact with over Facebook. That gave me a good laugh.

    Reply
    • BAHAHAHA! I’m sorry. I’m laughing WITH your friend, not at her. I remember when I had my first, who was the easiest baby ever, and I smuggly and foolishly thought, “I can totally do this. Let’s have another.” Three years later, my little Goo was born. Pride comes before the fall.

      Reply
  3. I absolutely LOVE your graphic. And after my kids went to preschool, they thought that I played on the computer all day when they were away! But no, it was my part-time job, which I took in the hopes of being able to pay for their college.

    Reply

Your two cents.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 786 other followers

