RSS Feed

My When-The-Kids-Go-To-College List

I’m creating a when-the-kids-go-to-college list: a list of things I want to do once my kids are out of the house and I have time. And hopefully some money. Time will tell.

Being a stay-at-home-mom is wonderful. Everyday brings new grins and giggles, hugs and snuggles, challenges and victories. But even with all that, there are many other facets to who I am, besides just, “Mommy.” In a desperate attempt to not lose sight of, well, me, I am creating my own version of the bucket list. I plan on fulfilling these wishes once my kids are embarking on their own life’s journeys. And calling me daily to tell me how those journeys are going and how much they love and miss me. Maybe twice a day.

So here it is. The College List (in no particular order):

  1. Tour Europe
  2. Visit the Louvre
  3. See Michelangelo’s Pietà

    I think this is one of the most beautiful sculptures ever created. This has nothing to do with the fact that I can barely draw stick figures.

  4. Go to medical school
  5. Throw myself a huge graduation party when I finish medical school
  6. Assist with, or maybe even run, medical clinics in third world countries, or natural disaster zones
  7. Buy a house
  8. Take cake decorating classes

    I'll totally be able to make this one day. Except none of my girls are named Emily. And my kids won't be 1 anymore. Does that mean I have to learn to make other numbers, too? Because this list is already long enough.

  9. See my husband start, and finish, classes to become an ordained minister
  10. Help my husband pastor a church, possibly in another country
  11. RV across the country
  12. Go on a cruise
  13. Become a published writer
  14. See miracles. In real life.
  15. Take an oil painting class
  16. Organize and fill photo albums for each of my girls individually, and several as a family
  17. Visit Australia
  18. Swim with dolphins
  19. Go on a safari
  20. Adopt a child
  21. Go green – like completely. Windmill powered home, green car, organic food, the whole nine yards
  22. Give someone in need something huge – like a house or a car. Something ala Pay It Forward
  23. Run a 5k
  24. Clean my house. Then watch it stay clean because the kids are in college

    My kitchen looks like this. Minus the granite counters, cherry cabinets, and stainless steel appliances. And if you added Cheerios, spilled spaghetti sauce, and baby-poop yellow faux brick.

  25. Sleep in past 7:00
  26. Scuba dive
  27. Sky dive
  28. Host a huge family holiday gathering, with all the trimmings
  29. Surprise my husband with an upright bass
  30. Fill my Pandora bracelet

I will probably add to this as new desires, aspirations, and opportunities arise. Maybe I will even get to cross some off. Before the kids are in college.

About Mediocre Mom

I am a wife to the man who was made for me, and mom to three amazing girls: Punkin is eight, Goo is four, and Smush is two. I'm a Christian, a science geek, and completely addicted to coffee. Trying to stay sane one day at a time. Lowering the bar for moms everywhere.

2 responses »

  1. Hahaa..! I love this part: “Clean my house. Then watch it stay clean because the kids are in college..” because I feel the same!

    Reply
  2. Yes!!! But you WILL get some of those things done BEFORE they are in college…I hope you check back with your list often and see how you are granted the desires of your heart! :)

    Reply

Your two cents.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 781 other followers

